Another RL related post, a pic I took at work (big pic)

All general chat regarding WoW
Armann
Commander
Commander

Another RL related post, a pic I took at work (big pic)

Post by Armann » Fri Oct 28, 2011 10:27 am

So, many of you know that I work at a nuclear power plant. What I do there is mostly failure analysis on damaged components. I will not go into details about that boring stuff :wink: But I do want to show you a random "photo" I took using an SEM (scanning electron microscope). For those of you that doesn't know what that type of instrument is, the short version is that it is a microscope that uses a beam of electrons instead of a beam of light for magnification and as electrons have a much shorter wavelength the magnification obtainable is that much higher. (if that made sense to anyone :wink: )

I'm just getting into learning to use the instrument at lower acceleration voltage making it possible to take photos of non metal samples (metals are usually preferred if you don't coat the samples using a electric conductive material). What I took a picture of here is some sort of "particle" on a polymer membrane used for water filtration. I have no idea what it is really but I think it looks great :) I added the picture with a scale so you can get a grasp on how increadible small this thing really is (micron level).

Nature really is beautiful and almost scary on a high magnification point of view :)

Enjoy!

Edit: hmm, it doesn't show up..? Is the picture too big perhaps? That was kinda the idea, to show an increadible huge picture of something really small :wink: Any computer genius that can help me here?

Edit 2: lets see if this works then :)

link: My photostream

Edit 3: Yay, it did :D But it looks like you can't really see the picture in full resolution (if there isn't some way to zoom in more) the original size rather huge :)
Attachments
6288081445_9824ccd64e_b.jpg
6288081445_9824ccd64e_b.jpg (368.2 KiB) Viewed 4182 times

Nerth
Guild Veteran