Windows 7 CPU and Config.wtf settings

All general chat regarding WoW
Post Reply
Pintskebab
Knight
Knight
Posts: 377
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 9:59 pm

Windows 7 CPU and Config.wtf settings

Post by Pintskebab » Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:00 pm

Dear Trotters,

Wanted to share this with you if you didnt already know. Windows 7 doesnt user all the cpu cores by default. They are parked. for some this will probably not even make sense. Basically If you have a PC with quad core or Duo core. Windows is set to use the first cpu.

So here is a site I used to change the registry settings and it works.

http://forum.cakewalk.com/tm.aspx?m=1861804

Also with regards to graphics and performance issues you can add the following settings to your config.wtf file which can be found at C:\Users\Public\Games\World of Warcraft\WTF

The above path is for Windows 7 users. I am sure other operating systems have the same sort of path.

Add the following settings:

SET processAffinityMask "15"
SET gxApi "D3D11"
SET gxTextureCacheSize "1024"

and save the file.

The processAffinityMask is so WOW uses all the cpus available
The gxApi is to use the DirectX 11 if your not already set to use that. They can be set through the wow Interface too.
gxTexture - I have set mine to 1024 as I have a 1GB graphics card. for those that have a 512MB card should set that to 512.


Hope this post helps. You might already know all this. I have only written it as people on TS the other day said I had lost them when I mentioned config.wtf

Kind Regards,

Two Pints and a Kebab - Probably The best pints in the world ;-p

User avatar
Armann
Commander
Commander
Posts: 1782
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Windows 7 CPU and Config.wtf settings

Post by Armann » Sat Oct 08, 2011 3:51 pm

you lost me at Windows :roll:
Image

User avatar
ScoobyT
Knight-Lieutenant
Knight-Lieutenant
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 12:31 pm
Location: UK, Outer London

Re: Windows 7 CPU and Config.wtf settings

Post by ScoobyT » Sun Oct 09, 2011 11:19 pm

Cheers mate. Will give this a go as I have Quad core so worth a shot.
Image

Image

Del Boy: Are you saying I'm stupid?
Rodney: Either that or it's the Chinese year of the dodo.

Gupp
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Posts: 2057
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Windows 7 CPU and Config.wtf settings

Post by Gupp » Mon Oct 10, 2011 8:13 am

I havent done this and Win7 runs both cores at about the same level.

Must read up more...
Q u o t e:
"So, whats the kill order tankadin?"

"This room, the next, the hallway and then the boss." *throws shield*

User avatar
Tegnaro
Retired GM
Retired GM
Posts: 6382
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Windows 7 CPU and Config.wtf settings

Post by Tegnaro » Wed Dec 14, 2011 7:22 pm

Just saw this...interesting. Is it like overclocking though? In that could over heat or cause problems?

Rheon
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Posts: 2757
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 4:12 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Windows 7 CPU and Config.wtf settings

Post by Rheon » Wed Dec 14, 2011 8:38 pm

Most games are set to run on 2 cores max, as pints says wow only runs 1 by default. If you have a multicore processor you can set the affinity to run (i think) a max of 2 cores on wow.

With regards to heat and what not, 2 cores running at 50% will prolly produce less heat than 1 core maxing it's not clocking in any way, in fact it reduces load per processor, it'll stop any bottlenecking at the cpu's end.

However once you are running on 2 cores on a reasonable modern cpu and 2gb or over of ram you'll find the only bottleneck will occur on your graphics card. There's a great little article on toms hardware about this kinda thing, where to spend your money on hardware without totally wasting it (as most ppl do) it's under the battlefeild 3 section shows graphs of core usage and such.

What it all boils down to is if you have a 2core cpu or above don't waste your money upgrading Mobo's and cpu's go straight for your graphics card as that's where the lag starts ;-)
Image

User avatar
Tegnaro
Retired GM
Retired GM
Posts: 6382
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Windows 7 CPU and Config.wtf settings

Post by Tegnaro » Wed Dec 14, 2011 8:44 pm

cheers pal...will give it a go

Rheon
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Posts: 2757
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 4:12 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Windows 7 CPU and Config.wtf settings

Post by Rheon » Wed Dec 14, 2011 8:50 pm

ignore me I was looking for the toms hardware link and stumbled accross this

WOW only uses 2 cores by default. However you can configure it to "quasi" use more cores. you have to manually edit your config.wtf and change the variable: SET processAffinityMask "3" (3 is the default meaning 2 cores) to the following values for respective processors:

i7 Qudcore with Ht- 85
Any Quadcore chips with no HT - 15
i5 Quadcore which does not have HT as far as I know - 15
i5 Dualcore with HT- 5
Dualcore with HT- 5
Dualcore without HT - 5
AMD tricore - 7

So it seems that wow uses 2 cores by default, although I remember setting the affinity on my win7 pc. However with the above info we can all tune in a little more :).
For those not in the know HT=hyper threading
Image

User avatar
Tegnaro
Retired GM
Retired GM
Posts: 6382
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Windows 7 CPU and Config.wtf settings

Post by Tegnaro » Wed Dec 14, 2011 9:04 pm

I have an i7-2600 @ 3.40ghz, not sure how to check for Hyper Threading, but guessing to try and set Affinity = 85?

Rheon
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Posts: 2757
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 4:12 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Windows 7 CPU and Config.wtf settings

Post by Rheon » Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:48 am

Quadcore will show as 4 cpu's, with HT it'll appear to the OS as 8 cpu's, usually mentions HT in post but you'll see it in device manager/cpu as 8 cpu's if HT'd
Image

Post Reply